• Image of National Honor Society Members
    Image of National Honor Society Members

Image of National Honor Society Members

The Wayne County Schools Career Center inducted 24 new members into the Marie Chenevey Chapter of the National Honor Society in a candlelight ceremony on Thursday night, bringing total membership to 39 members.

            Principal Matt Brown welcomed the group of students and their families. National Honor Society started in 1921, and continues to be the premier club for students with outstanding high school achievement, he said. “Being named a member of the National Honor Society takes a lot more than just making the honor roll.”

            Advisor Jennifer Majka said to the parents, “Your unconditional love, guidance, support, and encouragement throughout the years is a large reason why your sons and daughters are here tonight.” She also thanked the senior members for their commitment to service within the school and community saying, “You are setting high standards for our future members.”

She introduced the faculty council which selected the new members: Dee Black, Amber Long, Helena Ritchey, Amanda Seenes, and Amy Tietz.

            Influential teachers honored were Sarah Andrasik, Julie Keener, Kelly Miller, Mike Morabito, Jen Rue, and Tietz.

            President McKenzie Taylor of Norwayne spoke about scholarship, vice president Danielle Host of Waynedale on service; secretary Kathleen Ledoux of Triway on leadership, and treasurer Kaitlyn Thomas of Rittman on character.

            Seniors received their cords to wear at graduation, and each inductee received a certificate and a rose.

            Seniors inducted were:

Chippewa- Jordynn Fazenbaker and Savannah Schooling.

Hillsdale- Kelsey Conn.

Orrville- Ally Hess and Emily Stutler.

Triway- Caitlin Griffith and Emily Young.

Waynedale- Richard Tuttle.


            Juniors inducted were:

Norwayne- Amyra Bowman, Maddie Brooks, Connor Gasser, Madison Lunsford, Mikayla Morrow, and Anthony Tosatto.

Orrville- Cameron Butler, Eric Fuhrer-Hostutler, Mackenzie Fuhrer-Hostutler,

Northwestern- Emily Cromer, Tristan Estep.

Rittman- Troy Hartzler.

Dalton- Abby Henning.

Chippewa- Markail Pay and Kaitlin Tackett.

Wooster- Beth Schmidt.


            Senior members inducted last year receiving their graduation cords were:

Orrville- Adrianna Booth.

Norwayne- Megan Hoisington, Sierra Moore, Kelly Young, and Taylor.

Waynedale- Host.

Wooster- Taylor Kurtz, Jesse Sayre, Hannah Strock.

Triway- Ledoux.

Chippewa- Hailey Miller, Samantha Padilla, Ashley Spicer.

Smithville- Kiersten Sugg.

Rittman- Thomas.


            A reception followed the ceremony.